ESAWAS on 6th IWRF Programme Committee

The IWA International Water Regulators Forum (IWRF) gathers high-level representatives of regulatory authorities and officials with regulatory and supervisory functions related to the provision of water, sanitation and wastewater management services.

The IWRF facilitates dialogue across functions – e.g. economic, health, environmental regulation– and sectors from science to policy and practice, to enable synergies, peer to peer learning and collaboration to inform water-wise policies and regulation.

The Programme Committee (PC) of the IWRF has the role of advising the IWA Secretariat about the content and structure of the Forum’s agenda and, in general, of helping IWA to make this an interesting and useful experience for its participants

The members of the Programme Committee of the 6th IWRF are:

  • Jakob Hald- Chairman of the IWRF Programme Committee, Director General of the Danish Competition and Consumer Authority (DCCA – KFST)

  • Andrea Guerrini- President of WAREG, the Association of European Water Regulators and Commissioner of ARERA, the Italian Regulatory Authority for Energy, Networks and Environment

  • Dan Palombi- Senior Advisor of Resource Geoscience at the Alberta Energy Regulator, Alberta Geological Survey

  • Loga Veeraiah- Representative of the National Water Services Commission (SPAN), Malaysia which holds the regulatory functions of the water services in Malaysia

  • Mari Asami- Chief senior researcher at Department of Environmental Health, National Institute of Public Health, NIPH, Japan

  • Hugo Oscar Pintos- President of the Association of Drinking Water & Sanitation Regulators of the Americas (ADERASA). Mr Pintos also serves as President of Federal Association of Drinking Water & Sanitation Regulators (AFERAS)

  • Patrick Lester N. Ty- Chief Regulator of the MWSS-Regulatory Office

  • Paul Hickey- Managing Director of the Regulators Alliance Progressing Infrastructure Development (RAPID)

  • Seamus Parker- Executive Director, Strategic Partners, of the Queensland Treasury Corporation (QTC), Australia

  • Sai-wai Chau- Deputy Director, Water Supplies Department, Hong Kong SAR Government, China

  • Tone Madsen- Head of the Water Regulatory Authority which is a part of Danish Competition and Consumer Authority (DCCA-KFST), Denmark

  • Yvonne Magawa- Project Manager at the Eastern and Southern Africa Water and Sanitation Regulators Association, ESAWAS

  • Vanessa Schmitt- Representative of the Brazilian Association of Regulatory Agencies (ABAR)

  • James Manda- Technical Manager, African Forum for Utility Regulators (AFUR), South Africa

  • Ana Barreto Albuquerque- Member of the Executive Board of the Water and Waste Services Regulation Authority (ERSAR)

At the 6th International Water Regulators Forum the experts will revise the role of regulators and that of regulation in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals, building on the outcomes of previous editions and identifying developments and the way forward for resilient and sustainable universal access to water and sanitation for all.


Copyright © 2019 ESAWAS. Designed by CABP